Cigar Shenanigans

I’m a cigar guy. I’ve enjoyed them for the last 20 years. I have my favorites, I like certain ones for special occasions, I have the cheapies for the commute, and I still like to explore new brands occasionally.

I had an incident on a recent fly by to my regular cigar shop. It was a bit disturbing. In a rush, I flew in said “Hey” to the usual crowd of guys who are always hanging out there.  I head for the cheapies. I call them cheapies…$2.95, Nicaraguan filler with a Nicaragua binder, Dominican wrapper.  6 1/2″ length, approximately a 42 ring, usually well constructed and if they are kept humidified properly, they smoke great.

Ah, there they are…

Whoa ! Wait a minute.  The 50% box.   A rare sighting.  This box appears from time to time. Usually loaded with half off product.   $5 to $15 dollar cigars at half off. A bit of rummaging and there are always some good deals in there.

I’m in a rush, so I reach in and grab some that are the right size and look to be the shade wrapper I prefer.  I pay, jump in the car and head off to an appointment 45 minutes away with 30 minutes to get there.

Time to fire one up for the ride.  Hmmm… what’s that? That’s odd.  Is that orange? Maybe Mellon?  OK , maybe I’m imagining things.  I thought that I tasted something. I have  slug of coffee to clear the palate.  Try again, there it is. That’s definitely  some fruit taste going on there.  I check the label. Ohhhh Boy.   Mangolicious.

I check the rest of the cigars. All fruit flavored cigars.  I feel duped. Cigars should not be fruit flavored. It’s just wrong.

Ah, I get it, that’s why they were 50% off. Oh well, mango cigars for the rest of the week.

This entry was posted in Cigars and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cigar Shenanigans

  1. John says:

    I’m not much of a cigar guy, but I do light upon occasion. Did just that the other night. One of my fishing buddies was now a Grandpa!

    For me it’s vodkas. Can’t stand fruit flavored vodka! If you want a fruit flavored drink, at least do it properly. Being summer, how about Aperol and Prosecco… Dang, those Venetians know how to mix a cocktail!

  2. Kelly says:

    Haaaahaa. Gross.

Leave a Reply

