New Years Resolution – Do Something Epic

I decided a few years ago I wasn’t thrilled with who I was. I put some serious effort into exploring around to see what made me tick, what could made me a better human, and generally tried to be a happier person.

Things like book club with some friends and with my daughter, karate with my son, theater set building for a local school,  blogging all started to become part of the routine for me. I started to focus on working on work/career skills. I read every gimmick book on how to be a super manager/leader/time management guru/etc. All these things had a great positive impact.

As this exploration was taking place it started to occur to me there was a component of all this that was not sitting correctly. I started to wonder what was missing, what was it that was not making me feel complete or fulfilled.  I doubled my efforts to focus on things that were struggles, tried to exert effort into the things I shied away from. Each push with renewed energy and vigor ended with me back at a gray place. Each push resulted in a shorter time back into this funk.

Ultimately I knew I needed to make some dramatic changes, adjust my life to something that was a real change, get out of the routine I was unable to break.  I realized I needed to put some effort into the things that I was good at and not the things I wasn’t. After a year of completely committing to new goals and growth with the same results, I came to the conclusion that I had to do something very dramatic.

New years rolled around and after sorting thru the lists of new years resolutions, I discovered none of them would result in the change I needed.  2012’s New Years Resolution – Do something epic.   Simple, specific, and grand enough to really shake up my situation.

After two months of having this floating in my head and a series actions, inaction, decisions, and non decisions, it happened. Some times you just have to let the barn burn to the ground and start anew.

So here I am , at 41, newly acquainted with something I have never dealt with before, unemployment.  It’s an interesting position to be in, after years of relatively steady success and promotion. I do not regret the events that ultimately lead to to this situation.

Conventional wisdom states you should plan and make calculated steps to transition.  In my case I’m OK with being fired out of a canon into the dark unknown. It has been good so far. It has resulted in some real clarity.  I have come to understand the things I like, the things I’m good at, and more importantly the things I’m not so good at. I’ve been able to step back far enough to see the things I need to work on, improve, and grow.  There’s some real power in understanding that about yourself.

I’m very excited to see where I land.  There are lots of possibilities. Considering them all is it’s own mini adventure. Whatever it is , I feel more energized at a much deeper level than I have in very long time. However this ends, something epic is in motion for me.

Chris’ New Years resolution accomplished.  How are you doing with your resolutions?

This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Years Resolution – Do Something Epic

  1. Kelly says:

    “Whatever you do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius and power and magic in it.” (Goethe) I admire your bold and fearless attitude!

  2. Christianna says:

    “If your dreams don’t scare you, they aren’t big enough.” (Random pin on Pinterest). We should get together again soon.

  3. lianaleahy says:

    Can’t wait to see where life leads you, because I’m convinced that something truly fulfilling and wonderful lies ahead.

    • Chris Saad says:

      There’s some wise saying I’m supposed quote here. about the journey. Blah,blah,blah…….and all that. I hope fullfilling and wonderful ends up being Bali or the south of france. I’l l send a postcard when I land. All my friends are welcome to join me, drinks on me! In all seriousness…or as about as serious as I can be, yes, grand adventure and looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

